Any big fans of Tara King?

The place for general chat about the television series and its characters, from the ABC years through to The New Avengers.
George
Thingumajig

Any big fans of Tara King?

Post by George »

From the episodes I have seen with Tara King in, I really enjoy her in The Avengers. I know alot of people are not keen on Diana Rigg's replacement, but I think the character of Tara was a great character for the show. I recently bought the Series (or is it Season ) 6 boxset, even though its got the high pitched Forget Me Knot episode, and I look very much forward to watching the entire Series/Season.

Since I am still learning about The Avengers, why wasn't Tara King chosen to star in The New Avengers after her and Patrick were in that French Champayne advert in 1975?
"Mrs Peel, we're needed"
darren
Diabolical Mastermind

Post by darren »

Speaking personally she's an absolute favourite for me. Superficially Linda Thorson is very beautiful (wonderful eyes). I love the eccentric quality she brought to Tara and love the chemistry she enjoys with Macnee. So many of my favourite episodes are in season 6.

Linda wouldn't have done the New Avengers as she felt that she'd moved on. I don't think Brian Clemens and Albert Fennell would have cast her again as they wanted to start afresh.
George
Thingumajig

Post by George »

I love Linda's short brown hairstyle. She suited that much more than being blonde. Am I right in saying the short brown hairstyle she sported was actually a wig?
"Mrs Peel, we're needed"
darren
Diabolical Mastermind

Post by darren »

The wigs features from The Forget-Me-Knot to Whoever Shot Poor George Oblique Stroke XR40? (In production order as shown on the DVD). There were several variations. By All Done With Mirrors, her hair was long enough again.

In Invasion of the Earthmen, aside from the wig changing scenes, the blond hair shown throughout the episode is her own before it started falling out.