Watching the Movie tonight - am I going to be disappointed?

The Avengers radio plays, the stage play, the movie, the novelizations, comics and other official fictional Avenger forms have their own section here.
the_demolished_man
Nutshell

Watching the Movie tonight - am I going to be disappointed?

Post by the_demolished_man »

Hiya

OK, I've been putting it off for several years after the terrible reviews, but tonight, I'm going to finally watch the Movie.

I've been prompted by a recent run of very good reboots - I am a big James Bond, Doctor Who, and Star Trek fan, and they have all been recently "re-imagined" with great success. In each case the new versions are made in a different style, with different takes on the main characters, but they have taken the key elements, giving them a modern spin and a welcome injection of fresh ideas.

My question is this - considering that I like what has been done to Bond, Who and Trek, am I going to like what they have done to The Avengers?

TDM
Dandy Forsdyke
A Surfeit of Posting

Post by Dandy Forsdyke »

Suck it and see!
THE AVENGERS GALLERY
Philippa
The Bird Who Wrote Too Much

Post by Philippa »

If you have expectations of it being anything like the original series, you're going to be very disappointed. But if you watch it as just another movie, you might enjoy it. The movie's not that bad, I mean, I've seen worse. But to me personally, it's not really The Avengers.
And I agree with Dandy, you have to see it for yourself. People here on the forum have very divided opinions on the movie.
kim
The Ministry

Post by kim »

The opinions are most certainly divided. I for one did not like the movie at all. ShaggE, on the other hand enjoyed it for the kitsch value.

Love it or hate it, it still is a must see for any Avenger's fan so that you can form your own opinion in regards to it.

Let us know what you think. If you love it, great. Trust me, there are several people here who will welcome you with open arms. :D